About Us Menu


School Staff

  • The Headteacher is automatically a governor for the lifetime of his / her Headship.
  • Teaching representatives are appointed by a ballot of teaching staff.
  • Support staff representatives are appointed by a ballot of support staff.

Parent Governors Parents are elected by a ballot open to all parents of students at the school (1 ballot paper per family). The ballot paper is sent to the family and a brief account from each person standing is available.

LEA Governors The Leading party of the local authority has the power to appoint one local authority governor, invariably from that particular party. If a new party takes over, the new party has the right to appoint a different person from their own party, if they so wish.

Foundation Governors Foundation Governors are people nominated by the school / governors. Often they are people who have previously been Parent Governors or LEA Governors; sometimes they are former students of the school. Ideally three of the Foundation Governors should be Foundation Parent Governor (who have or have had children at the school, or have children at other schools but of the relevant age). The nominations are put to the Trustees for agreement at a Board meeting. Once voted in or nominated the Governor will serve a four year term of office.

  • Staff often re-nominate one of their representatives without opposition from other candidates, so an election is not held and they automatically retain their governorship.
  • Foundation Governors are also frequently re-nominated for more than one term of office.
  • All Parent Governors always serve one term of office, although there is nothing to prevent them from putting themselves forward for a further term.

The number of governors can vary, dependent on the school governors Instrument of Government (which is signed off by the Local Authority). In a Voluntary Aided School, the number of Foundation Governors always forms a majority.

Members of the Boys’ School Governing Body

Appointed by the Trustees of the Foundation

  • Mr Andrew Balfour (Vice Chair)
  • Mr Tom Cassels
  • Mr Simon Dodds (Chair of Governing Body and Premises, Health & Safety Committee)
  • Ms Tugba Erem
  • Ms Shirley Gaynor-Ward
  • Mr Chris Gurney (Chair of Pay & Personnel Committee)
  • Ms Dilnaz Khambata (Chair of Finance Committee)
  • Ms Jurga Kisonaite
  • Ms Catarina Kohut
  • Mr Nicolas Mattis

Representative Governors (LEA Appointed)

  • *Appointment process underway

Parent Governors

  • Ms Joanna Plesniak (Vice Chair and Chair of Teaching & Learning Committee)
  • Mr Michael Guida (Term ended 17.12.2021)*
  • [Vacancy]*

*elections underway


  • Mr Jamie Brownhill

Staff Governors

  • Ms Caroline Browne (Co-opted Non-Teaching)
  • Mr Steve Mounsey (Co-opted Teaching)
  • Ms Shahnaz Yasmin


To read a list of the Governors’ pecuniary and personal interests, please click here.
Details of the terms of office for each governor, structure and responsibilities of the Governing Body and its Committees can be found here.
Attendance record at Governing Body & Committee meetings 2020-21 can be found here.

To apply for a place at Central Foundation Boys’ School Sixth FormPlease Click Here